Big League Babe

This is the first of two albums that were recorded as a tribute to Christine Lavin. The album consists of a number of Christine's contemporaries singing her songs (except for Cheryl's, of course). Christine was unaware of the project until this album was presented to her.

Cheryl's contribution is the only song on that album that wasn't written by Christine. Cheryl is also the only artist to have her intro recorded. The other artists had a little blurb in the liner notes where they described why they chose the song, plus other comments about Christine. The liner notes state:

We were going to transcribe Cheryl's Christine Lavin story, but her delivery is so incredible, we thought it deserved its own track on the record

For those who don't know, Christine Lavin has been described as "The Mother Theresa of Folk Music". She is well known for promoting other artists. Interviewers have a hard time getting her to talk about herself, because she always manages to turn the conversation towards discussing some little-known folk artist that Christine thinks is great. The World Cafe used Christine as a scout for Folk Music for a while. She would talk for a few minutes about unknown artists and play some of their songs.

Christine has involved Cheryl in a number of her projects. Cheryl has even substituted for one of the "Bitchin' Babes" on occasions (where she was quoted as saying: "I'm not bitchin', I'm just a bitch" That was a joke :^)

Some of Christine's projects have been On a Winter's Night, When October Goes (which was where When Fall Comes to New England was first recorded), Martha's Vineyard Retreat ( Big Times in a Small Town, Follow That Road, and Laugh Tracks).


Album Tracks

TitleBig League Babe~The Christine Lavin Tribute Album, Pt. 1
Cat #PCD 037
1 Attainable Love 2:49Kessler, Barbara
2 Kind of Love You Never Recover From, The 3:42Wilcox, David
3 Artificial Means 3:13Eberhardt, Cliff~Gold, Julie
4 Jane 4:10Gilbert, Vance
5 Fly On a Plane 2:38Shindell, Richard
6 Victim/Volunteer 4:14Olsen, Kristina
7 Amoeba Hop, The 2:41Ronk, Dave Van~Christian, Frank
8 Replaced 3:57Werner, Susan
9 Good Thing He Can't Read My Mind 2:59McDonough, Megon
10 You Think You've Got Problems 3:25Roth, David
11 Biological Time Bomb 2:24Zweiman, Judith
12 Christine Lavin Could Do It (Intro) 2:26Wheeler, Cheryl
13 Christine Lavin Could Do It 3:09Wheeler, Cheryl


Album Tracks

TitleBig League Babe~The Christine Lavin Tribute Album, Pt. 2
Cat #PCD 039
1 Compas 5:14Carstensen, Dee
2 Santa Monica Pier 4:07Mondlock, Buddy
3 Dakota, The 4:35Hickman, Sara
4 Doris and Edwin: The Movie 3:17Forster, John
5 Kind of Love You Never Recover From, The 3:26Blumenfeld, Hugh~Williams, Dar
6 Sensitive New Age Guys 3:08Buskin, David~`Wurzbach, George~Hedick, Brook
7 Real Men Do 3:21Batteau, Robin~Naugton, James~Buskin, David
8 Moment Slipped Away, The 5:23Williams, Jane Kelly
9 Regretting What I Said (A Musical Apology) 3:19Smith,D ebi
10 Roses fromt eh Wrong Man 4:03Ratshin, Andrew
11 Bitter End, The 3:59Nelson, Pete
12 Prisoners of Their Hairdos (Instrumental) 2:41Larkin, Patty
13 I Love You 2:42Fingerett, Sally~Green, Dan
14 Christine in the Round 2:40Weber, Sol and friends
15 World is Coming to an End, The 1:18Breckman, Andy

© 1999-2011 William R. Pringle. Permission is granted to use any of this information to promote any event involving Cheryl Wheeler, provided credit is clearly given to this site.

This site is maintained by Bill Pringle, a HUGE fan of Cheryl. No viewpoints expressed within this site should be construed as the opinion of anyone other than me.

If you find any mistakes, broken links, etc. or if you just want to comment on the site, send e-mail to [email protected]

Web Hosting courtesy of CHCS Consulting.

This site best viewed with FireFox.
Get Firefox!