This song has gone through several name changes. This Original working title was The Boulder Hotel Room Song. Several other titles were considered while Cheryl was performing this song, but Cheryl was leaning towards leaving the title alone. However, the name was changed for the album, since it was going to be on an album called Sylvia Hotel, and people thought it would be too confusing to have two hotel room songs. She later regretted that she let people talk her into changing the title, so when introducing the song at concerts, she would often mention that the song will always be "Boulder Hotel Room" to her. That was a joke :^)

This is a sad song about the end of a relationship. The singer is discussing ways to cope. The opening line stuck with me the first time I heard it:

Life is short,

but the days and nights are long.

Another great line is:

Broken hearts keep beating just the same

  • But the Days and Nights Are Long (formerly known as: Boulder Hotel Room)
  • Words and Lyrics by:
  • Cheryl Wheeler
  • Life is short, but the days and nights are long
  • Time will heal all these wounds
  • Some day soon
  • I'll be rising I'll be strong
  • But now I'm losing all my battles
  • Now I'm down and dropping still
  • And this snow's blowing through
  • Like some ghost
  • With this blue I know too well
  • Broken hearts keep on beating just the same
  • So I guess I can too
  • Go through these moves
  • Facing forward, walking straight
  • But now my glance keeps drifting downward
  • Now my feet can't find their way
  • And this cold's creeping in
  • Through my bones
  • Whisperin it's here to stay
  • I'll bide my time, like there's any other way
  • It moves too slow, moves too fast
  • It's gone and past
  • And stopped entirely today
  • I know there's light on some horizon
  • But I can't see so far ahead
  • Patience and grace, blessed is love
  • I'm losin my faith
  • In most of that stuff those wise men said
  • 3/4/96
  • (P) May 27, 2003
  • Penrod And Higgins Music / Amachrist Music
  • ACF Music Group
  • International Copyright Reserved